Skip to content

Recent New York Times Children’s Bestsellers

March 25, 2013

Who doesn’t enjoy a bestseller? This round-up of titles from a recent NY Times childrens’ bestsellers list has fun reading for everyone.

Picture Books

Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site, by Sherri Duskey Rinker, Tom Lichtenheld. As the sun sets behind the big construction site, all the hardworking trucks get ready to say goodnight.

This is Not My Hat, by Jon Klassen. WINNER OF THE 2013 CALDECOTT MEDAL! From the creator of the #1 New York Times best-selling and award-winning I Want My Hat Back comes a second wry tale. (Ages 4 to 8)

Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes, by Eric Litwin. Pete the Cat goes walking down the street wearing his brand-new white shoes. Along the way his shoes change from white to red to blue to brown to WET as he steps in piles of strawberries, blueberries, and other big messes! But no matter what color his shoes are, Pete keeps movin’ and groovin’ and singing his song … because it’s all good. Preschool-2. (Ages 3 to 7)

Books for Students Ages 8-12

Wonder, by R. J. Palacio. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse. August Pullman was born with a facial deformity that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. (Ages 8 to 12) This book has images.

The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate Patricia Castelao. Ivan is an easygoing gorilla. Living at the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade, he has grown accustomed to humans watching him through the glass walls of his domain. He rarely misses his life in the jungle. (Ages 8 to 12) This book has images.

The False Prince: Book 1 of the Ascendance Trilogy, by Jennifer A. Nielsen. THE FALSE PRINCE is the thrilling first book in a brand-new trilogy filled with danger and deceit and hidden identities that will have readers rushing breathlessly to the end. In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing.  (Ages 9 to 12) This book has images.

Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises, by Peter Lerangis. The thrills begin in The Colossus Rises, the first installment in the epic seven-book adventure series Seven Wonders, from master storyteller and bestselling 39 Clues series author Peter Lerangis. (Ages 8 to 12) This book has images.

I Funny, by Chris Grabenstein Laura Park James Patterson. Resolving to become the world’s greatest stand-up comedian despite less-than-funny challenges in his life, wheelchair-bound middle school student Jamie Grimm endures bullying from his mean-spirited cousin and hopes he will be fairly judged when he enters a local comedy contest.  (Ages 9 to 12)  This book has images.

Middle School #1: The Worst Years of My Life, by Chris Tebbetts, Laura Park, James Patterson. Rafe Khatchadorian has enough problems at home without throwing his first year of middle school into the mix. (Ages 8 to 12) This book has images.

Young Adult, Ages 14 and Up

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky. Charlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. (Ages 14 and up) This book has images.

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green. Bestselling author John Green returns with an eagerly anticipated and emotional novel about sickness and health, life and death. (Ages 14 and up)

I Hunt Killers, by Barry Lyga. What if the world’s worst serial killer…was your dad? Jasper (Jazz) Dent is a likable teenager. A charmer, one might say.  (Ages 15 to 18)  This book has images.

Divergent, by Veronica Roth. In a future Chicago, sixteen-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group, and that the society she lives in is not perfect after all. (Ages 14 and up) This book has images.

Looking for Alaska, by John Green. Sixteen-year-old Miles’ first year at Culver Creek Preparatory School in Alabama includes good friends and great pranks, but is defined by the search for answers about life and death after a fatal car crash. (Ages 14 to 17)

Insurgent, by Veronica Roth. As war surges in the dystopian society around her, sixteen-year-old Divergent Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.  (Ages 14 and up) This book has images.

Paper Towns, by John Green. With his trademark brilliant wit and heart-stopping emotional honesty, the Printz Medal-winning author of “Looking for Alaska” returns with a novel about a teenage girl who has mysteriously vanished, and the boy who looks for her by following the clues she left behind just for him. (Ages 14 and up)

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak. It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . (Ages 14 and up)  This book has images.

Prodigy (Legend #2), by Marie Lu. Featured on Entertainment Weekly’s MUST-LIST! The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestseller, LEGEND#151; perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! (Ages 12 and up) This book has images.

Best Selling Children’s Series, varying ages

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. The trilogy and companion volumes.

Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1), by Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia. There were no surprises in Gatlin County. We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere. At least, that’s what I thought. Turns out, I couldn’t have been more wrong. There was a curse. There was a girl. (Ages 12 and up)  This book has images.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid, by Jeff Kinney. 7 titles in the series

Delirium: The Special Edition, by Lauren Oliver. Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient.  (Ages 14 and up)  This book has images.

The Twilight Saga – by Stephenie Meyer.

Warriors, by Erin Hunter. Many titles.

The 39 Clues, all authors and titles.

Heroes of Olympus, by Rick Riordan. 4 books in the series

Bloodlines, by Richelle Mead.  2 books in the series.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s